The Himalayan Institute Hospital Trust (HIHT) the sponsoring society for HIHT University was founded by a great yogi, scientist, philosopher, philanthropist, researcher and writer, H.H. Dr. Swami Rama. The University is situated in the lush green valley of Dehradun in Uttarakhand on the Rishikesh-Dehradun highway adjacent to the Dehradun airport at Jolly Grant. HIHT University offers both undergraduate and post graduate courses.

Opened in 1994 with 250 beds, the institute is currently the Only Post Graduate Medical Institute in Uttarakhand. A 750 bed multi-specialty tertiary care hospital is attached to the University for the teaching and training purposes of the student of the University. The daily average OPD is 1519.89 and the IPD occupancy percentage is 86.80%.

The Medical College (Himalayan Institute of Medical Sciences) was established in 1995. The medical college is recognized by the Medical Council of India (MCI). The facilities and faculty is as per the norms of the Medical Council of India. The faculty is experienced and proficient as teachers, clinicians and administrators. To support a "learning-oriented environment" as opposed to a "teacher-oriented environment", at the end of each term, the students evaluate teachers and select the faculty for the Best Teacher Award.

All the courses coducted in the institute prior to the Deemed University Status (untill 2007) the institute was affiliated to HNB Garhwal University. The Vice-Chancellor of the university is Sh. S.P. Singh and the Registrar is Sh. A.R. Nautiyal.

The Medical Institute has been awarded the status of a Deemed University by the Govt. of India vide notification number F.9-43/2006-U.3 (A) dated 6th June 2007 under section 3 of University Grants Commission Act 1956.Subsequently the name of the Deemed University was changed from Swami Rama Vidyapeeth to HIHT University by the Government of India vide notification even no dated 4th March 2008. The Vice-Chancellor of the University is Sh. Vijay Dhasmana and the Registrar is Ms. B. Maithili

The University is providing a unique model of education for the country by incorporating a spiritual basis of life in relation to health and modern technology and training students in various fields.

The teaching faculty of the university is as per requirements of respective statutory councils. The university meets recognized standards of excellence in education and has modern facilities to explore, experiment, and achieve the highest standards in professional skills.

All the students are housed in on-campus modern hostel accommodations. The hostels provide a safe and disciplined lifestyle to students. Housing is provided for undergraduate medical students in five hostels (separate hostels for boys and girls) comprising of 600 rooms. Postgraduate students are placed in studio apartments with cooking facilities.

The Department of Medical Education (DME) ensures that the faculty is up to date on creative and innovative trends in medical education. The DME organizes orientations for new faculty, workshops, self-assessment exercises, and Continuing Medication Education / Case Presentations every fortnight that includes presentations by guest lecturers in various specialty areas from India and abroad.

Institute Details
Established in: 
Fee Amount: 
Affiliated to: 
Fee Structure: 
0 - 2 lacs
Kind of courses: 
Post Graduation
Available Courses: 
How to reach
Email id: 
info@hihtuniversity.org ch@hihtuniversity.org
Phone Numbers: 
Phone: 91-0135-2471150, Fax: 91-135-2471122
Contact Person: 
Chancellor Mahamandaleshwar Swami Ved Bharati
HIHT University Swami Rama Nagar, P.O. Doiwala, Distt. Dehradun 248140 Uttaranchal, India
Other Details
Student Activity clubs: 
Placement Amount: 
Dr. S.L. Jethani Dr. R.K. Rohatgi Dr. R.K. Rohatgi Dr. Mani Arora Dr. Harish Chaturvedi Dr. Vinay Kumar Dr. Praveen Kr Dass Dr. Alka Aggarwal Dr. Deepa Singh Dr. Aksh Dubey Dr. Rani Gupta Dr. Prakash Keshaviah Dr. Brijesh Purwar Dr. Jyoti Dvivedi Dr. Anupama Nautiyal Dr. Abha Shrivastava
Last Qualification Percentage: 
50 - 60 %
Classrooms Auditorium Laboratory Conference Hall Hostel Playground Campus Guest House Library Shopping Bank Transportation Kindergarden
Post new comment