NSOU 2014 ~ Admission, Date Sheet, Question Papers

Netaji Subhas Open University (NSOU) is the premier State Open University in India. Established by W.B. Act (XIX) of 1997 and Recognised by U.G.C.

Netaji Subhas Open University Updates:

At present, The University is continuing its work with 191 Study Centres. In near future more Study Centres will be opened with thrust on "meeting the unmet" particularly the disadvantaged sector of the rural community & minority with application of IT. The Study Centres of the University, which have already been opened and are on the anvil of opening will also provide for widening the scope of several vocational , professional & Online courses in addition to its existing courses upto M.Phil & Ph.D. levels.At present the University functions from its following six (6) campuses :

  • Netaji Subhas Open University, 1 Woodburn Park, Kolkata 700020, Ph. +91-33-2283-5157, Fax : +91-33-2283-5082 (Headquarters of all administrative works)
  • Netaji Subhas Open University, 1st Floor, K2, Bidhannagar Fire Station, Sector-V, Salt Lake City, Kolkata 700091, Ph. +91-33-2357-2947, 2357-7644, (School of Science , Publication Department)
  • Netaji Subhas Open University, 2nd Floor, 134/1, Meghnad Saha Sarani, Kolkata 700029, Ph. +91-33-2463-0292, Fax : +91-33-2465-6936 (Office of the Controller of Examinations)
  • Netaji Subhas Open University, 24/8, Garcha 1st Lane, Kolkata 700019, Ph. +91-33-2454-5524 (Transmission Centre of FM Channel Gyan Vani).
  • Ben Fish Bhavan, Salt Lake, Sector-V, Kolkata 700091 (Store for Study Materials)
  • Regional Centre, Netaji Subhas Open University, Kalyani Ghoshpara, Kalyani—741235, Ph. +91-33-2502-5066 (University's first eco-friendly green campus)
  • The University is also developing its Urban Campus at Salt Lake (DD-26).

The University has been experiencing exponential growth in several dimensions --- the number of Study Centres has escalated to a height of as much as 120, several subjects of studies have been added to its list of courses. The University is engaged in the task of realizing its vision 'to reach the unreached'. Currently the University has attained the status of Mega University, with more than 2,50,000 learners in more than 72 courses.

Eligibility Criteria:

Eligibility for BDP:

Subject Eligibility Criteria
EBG,EHI,EEC,EPS,EPA, ESO Passes 10+2 Examination or equivalent or passed BPP with PSS
EEG Passed 10+2 Examination or equivalent with 40% marks in English or passed BPP with PSS with 50% marks in aggregate
ECO Passes 10+2 Examination or equivalent or passed BPP with PCO

Eligibility for PG

Subject Eligibility Criteria
M.A. in Bengali, English, History, Political Science Graduate (Three-year Course) of any recognized University and have studied at least 300 marks in the relevant subject and passed successfully.
M.Com. Graduate (Three-year Course) of any recognized University and have studied at least 300 marks in the relevant subject and passed successfully.
M.A. in Public Administration Graduate (Three-year Course) with Public Administration / Political Science / Sociology / Economics.
M.A in Social Work(SW) Graduate (Three-year Course) with Sociology / Political Science / History / Public Administration / Economics / Anthropology
M.A in English Language Teaching (ELT) Graduate (Three-year Course) with English/ Linguistics.
M.A in Education Graduate (Three-year Course) with Education / B.Ed. / B.Ed. (SEDE).
Master of Library &

Information Science(MLIS)

BLIS degree from a recognized University.

Netaji Subhas Open University (NSOU) offers various programmes through distance mode Education:

I. Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.)

II. Bachelors Degree Programme (BDP)

  • Bengali (EBG)
  • English (EEG)
  • History(EHI)
  • Political Sc. (EPS)
  • Sociology (ESO)
  • Economics (EEC)
  • Public Administration (EPA)
  • Commerce (ECO)

III.Post Graduate Degree Programme (M.A./ M.Sc./ M.Com)

  • Bengali (PGBG)
  • English (PGEG)
  • History (PGHI)
  • Political Science (PGPS)
  • Education (PGED)
  • Public Administration (PGPA)
  • Social Work (MSW/ PGSW)
  • Commerce (M.Com. /PGCO)
  • English Language Teaching (PGET)
  • Library and Information Science (MLIS)

III. 2nd Degree Programme

  • Library and Information Science (BLIS)
  • B.Ed. (Special Education)

IV. PG Diploma

  • Journalism & Mass Communication (JMC)
  • Public Relations & Advertisement (PR & Ad.)
  • English Language Teaching (ELT)

V. Certificate

  • Human Rights (HR)
  • Communicative English (CE)
Institute Details
Regular Course
Distance Learning
Fee Structure: 
2 - 4 lacs
Kind of courses: 
Under Graduation
Post Graduation
Available Courses: 
How to reach
Phone Numbers: 
Netaji Subhas Open University1 Woodburn Park, Kolkata 700020
Other Details
Last Qualification Percentage: 
50 - 60 %
Post new comment