Madras University

The Madras University is considered as a patriarch in the field of Indian education. It has been established around 155 years ago. It is most probably the first university established in southern India. The Act for starting University was introduced in 1840. Finally, the university was set up in 1857 considering the demand for education in Madras presidency. It started its work with two departments offering courses in Language, English literature, and Sciences. It later expanded to the other subjects and vast curriculum.

The Madras University is a mother to various universities in India, like Mysore University, Annamalai University, University of Kerala, Tamil University, Bhartidhasan University, Periyar University.

The other departments were added to the University by various enactments in 1912 and 1923. The students and alumni took advantage of the growing opportunities of the education in the University.

Collages Affiliated to the Madras University

The University has restricted its campus to the state Tamil Nadu as of now.  Many colleges are attached to the University in the region of Tamil Nadu. The University monitors and supervises administration of these colleges. It also arranges and operates a fixed examination in all of these institutes. Following are some of these institutes:

  • Ethiraj College for Women
  • Loganatha Narayanasamy Government Arts College
  • DG Vaishnav College
  • Loyola College, Chennai
  • M.O.P.Vaishnav College for Women
  • Madras Christian College, Tambaram
  • Presidency College, Chennai
  • Queen Mary's College, Chennaii
  • Ramakrishna MissionVivekanandaCollege, Chennai
  • Dr.Ambedkar Government Arts College
  • Jaya Govind Harigopal Agarwal Agarsen College, Madhavaram, Chennai
  • Government Arts College, Nandanam
  • Government College of Arts and Crafts
  • Government college of Architecture and Sculpture
  • Loganatha Narayanasamy Government Arts College
  • Quaid-e-Millath Government College for women
  • Sri Sankara Arts and Science College, Enathur, Kanchipuram
  • The Qaide Milleth College for Men, Arts and Science, Medavakkam
  • Kumararani Meena Muthiah College Of Arts & Science (Co-Ed),Adyar
  • St Thomas College of Arts & Science, Koyambedu


The University proudly boasts of two Nobel Laureates, C.V.Raman (Awarded Nobel for Physics Contribution) and Subramanyan Chndrashekhar (Awarded Nobel for Physics contribution). Apart from these major recognitions, University has won many awards and felicitations for being excellent educational institute in India.

Mission and Objectives

The Madras University has achieved milestone in the field of education through its work over the years. Many experts in the Indian education industry have taken advantage of the facilities provided by the Madras Organization. Some objectives of the University can be mentioned as below:

  • Creating an environment for the empowerment of education in the country and development of the knowledge-based society.
  • Fostering the growth and opportunities of the larger masses in the society by giving them facilities to develop them.
  • Training manpower in the field of education to create a huge base of knowledge providers.

Campuses of the University

The University has opened up four campuses till date. The campuses are located at Guindy, Chepauk, Marina, Taramani. These campuses host different academic departments like history, languages, medical sciences and languages.

How to reach
Phone Numbers: 
University Centenary Buildings, Chepauk, Chennai-600 005.
Institute Details
Regular Course
Distance Learning
Fee Structure: 
0 - 2 lacs
Kind of courses: 
Under Graduation
Post Graduation
Available Courses: 
Post new comment